District pages » Spartan Educational Foundation

Spartan Educational Foundation

Senior Graduation Ticket/Parking Raffle

2023/2024 Meeting Schedule
Start time 8am - Board Room 119

Friday, September 7, 2023
Friday, October 6, 2023
Friday, November 3, 2023
Friday, February 2, 2024
Friday, April 5, 2024
Friday, May 3, 2024


Over the past years the Spartan Educational Foundation has awarded over 95 scholarships to graduating seniors of Oak Lawn Community High School at $1,500 per scholarship. In addition, the Spartan Educational Foundation has awarded close to $60,000 in mini-grants to Oak Lawn Community High School staff for classroom projects that have provided innovative learning opportunities for students at Oak Lawn Community High School.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Foundation is to support continuation of education by acknowledging the achievement of Oak Lawn Community High School graduates through annual scholarships. The Foundation can provide resources for educational programs and activities that enhance the quality of education and  provide students and staff with additional learning opportunities.  


The Foundation is a non-profit, tax-exempt organization. It is a separate entity from Oak Lawn Community High School District 229 governed by its own Board of Trustees. Foundation board members are community and business leaders, alumni and parents who donate their time and talents. The Foundation is a forum for individuals and organizations to demonstrate their financial support to the District in order to ensure the continuation of a high quality of programs and services for the District's young men and women. 

Board Members

Name Title
John Hickey Chairman
Karyn Horn Vice Chairman
Maria Vanderwarren Secretary
Joseph McCurdy Treasurer
Dr. Shahe Bagdasarian Member
Tom Flynn Member
Jim Gaskill Member
Phil McGee Member
Brian McCarty Member
Noreen Mitchell Member
Susan Othman Member
Laura Shallow Member

Contact Us

If you need more information, contact Maria Vanderwarren at (708) 741-5602 or email at [email protected].

2023 Scholarship Sponsors/Winners

SEF Scholarship Fund....................................Sandy Berg
                                                                        Justyna Dzielska
                                                                        Matthew Perry

Megan Hurckes Scholarship Foundation.........Brendan Gallian
SEF Faculty Fund................................................Mila Revell
Oak Lawn Raiders Memorial Scholarship.......Haven Rupsch