Spring Sports Award Winners


The athletic department recently had its Spring Sports Awards Night and recognized the top athletes for a job well done on the playing field. It was a super successful season for the Spartans as there were six individuals who qualified for the Illinois High School Association State Meet in Boys and Girls Track and Field, there was a conference champion on the softball diamond, three South Suburban Conference Coaches of the Year, and an SSC Player of the Year. Here’s a closer look at all of these accomplishments and more.

In Boys Track and Field, the relay team of Javaris Shorter, Daniel Lillard, Zachary Olejniczak and Anthony Glover qualified for the IHSA State Meet in Charleston. Patrick Michaels qualified for state in the shot put. The team Most Valuable Player was Michaels, while Glover was the Sportsmanship Award winner. Head coach Jeremey Cryan was named the SSC Coach of the Year. All-conference selections included Shorter, Lillard, Olejniczak, Glover and Michaels.

In Girls Track and Field, Maddie McGrath qualified for the IHSA State Meet in pole vault. She was named the team’s MVP, and Grace Heneghan was the Sportsmanship Award winner. Emma McGrath was an all-conference selection.

In Softball, the Spartans won the championship of the SSC Red. In addition, head coach Pat Probst was named Coach of the Year, and Angelica Rafacz was voted Player of the Year. Rafacz was selected as the team MVP, and Giana Thorell was the Sportsmanship Award winner. As for all-conference selections, they included Hailey Melvin, Morgan Kaminski, Mariah Villarreal, Rafacz, and Camya Moser. Monique Villarreal was honorable mention all-conference.

In Girls Badminton, head coach Adam Zwirkoski was name the SSC Coach of the Year. The team MVPs were Nicole Seremet and Anna Gil, while the Sportsmanship Award went to Sydney Janik. All-conference selections included Gil, Ryleigh Novak, and Mia Menzel.

In Boys Volleyball, Donal Nugent was named the team’s MVP, while Jesus Sanchez was the Spartsmanship Award winner. All-conference selections were Nugent, Adem Osmani, and Abdalrahman Hasan. Sami Osmani was honorable mention.

In Baseball, the team MVP was Nico Uriarte and the Sportsmanship winner was Jose Rangel-Padilla. All-conference selections were Uriarte and Bryan Green. Mike Rollberg was the Clifton Scholarship winner.

In Girls Soccer, Cayley Patete was the team MVP, while Kailee Piwowarczyk was the Sportsmanship Award winner. Patete and Piwowarczyk were all-conference selections. Cynthia Nunez and Jessica Szaflarski were honorable mention.

In Boys Tennis, Mario Maka was MVP and Francisco Vazquez won the Sportsmanship Award.

As for the very top honors for the year, Adem Osmani was named the Bill Godby Most Valuable Male Athlete and Sydney Janik was named the Geri Vandekreke Most Valuable Female Athlete. Boys Basketball head coach Jason Rhodes was named Fred Parks Coach of the Year.

Joe Pajac Scholarship Award winners included Anthony Glover, Allison Hebel, and Sydney Janik.

Back to news