Spartans Lauded For Outstanding AP Achievements


OLCHS' AP courses are modeled after introductory college curricula that high school teachers must implement with fidelity in order to prepare students for success on the end-of-course exam, which is defined as a score of at least 3 on a 5-point scale. It allows students to take college-level course work during high school, and although it is not a College Board mandate, Oak Lawn Community High School requires students to take the AP exam to receive credit for AP coursework. The College Board has rolled out new resources with their exam ordering system. Teachers have received training on new features.

The College Board defines “Success” on an AP Exam as an exam score of 3 or higher, which represents the score point that research finds predictive of college success and college graduation. These findings have held consistent across the decades. One example of such a study comes from the National Center for Educational Accountability, which found that an AP Exam score of 3 or higher in particular is a strong predictor of a student’s ability to persist in college and earn a bachelor’s degree.

In 2019, Spartans earned hundreds of hours of college credit.  29 OLCHS students scored 33 perfect scores on AP tests! OLCHS has 32 AP Scholars, which is granted to students who receive scores of 3 or higher on three or more AP Exams; 10 AP Scholars with Honor, which is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams; and 5 AP Scholars with Distinction, which is granted to students who receive an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. Congratulations Spartans on these tremendous achievements!

Students who received AP achievements are as follows:  Malak  Abdeljaber, Yusra  Abdelrahman, Kevin Antonio, Dhati Ash, Amira Biba, Dakota Braatz , Noeleen Brown, Katelyn Byrne, Zeren Cebi, Jonathan Chacon-Salazar, Alondra Corral, Ricardo Cortes, Alexandria Demas, Chaniece Dobson, Emma Duque, Elliot Dziemiela, Fernanda Escobar, Levi Escobar, Marlene Favila, Tatiana Fernandez, James Fetzer , Peggy Fritz, Margaret Hennessy, Cassandra Hernandez, Jose Hernandez-Barbo, Kendallyn Julkowski, Jacob Kerwin, Salaam Khater, Caroline Kruk, Justine Kwak, Marcin Landa, Michal Landa, Jacob Luzadder, Pablo Macias, Michael  Majcherek, Julia Marusarz, Mia Menzel, Julia Monigal, Michael Mueller, Melanie Munoz-Felix, Sami Osmani, Oskaras Patasius, Matthew Plutz, Angelica Rafacz, Priya Rana, Emmanuel Romo, Melanie Schlesser, Ahmed Sharfi, Martin Sheehan, Olivia Shell, Lucas Sodaro, Jordan Sprycha, Emily Stachowicz, Ashley Sullivan, Alexander Sweis, Matelda Sweis, Danyah Thnaibat, Ana Torres, Amanda Unger, Hope Unger, Cesar Vazquez, and Samantha Welninski. 

Back to news