Spartan Journalism Team Takes Third At Sectional Competition


Journalism-State-Qualifiers-2019Last weekend, the Journalism team finished third at the Illinois High School Association Sectional competition held at Homewood-Flossmoor High School. The team finished with 64 total points and had top-six performances in 17 of the 18 events. The team qualified for the IHSA State competition in 10 of 18 events.

The sectional winning and state qualifying students include Katelyn Byrne, Cassidy McCormick, Mia Menzel, Salaam Khater, Samantha Welninski, Marissa Perales, and Matt Plutz. The state qualifiers include Sabha Aladwan, Kendallyn Julkowski, Matelda Sweis, Alexandria Demas, Mia Macias, and Patty Perez. These individuals head to the state meet, which will take place in Charleston at Eastern Illinois University on April 26.

Back to news