OLCHS Celebrates School Board Members Day

November 15th marked the official statewide observance of School Board Members Day in Illinois. This honorary day is an opportunity for the district and community to show support for your board of education and their commitment to providing a local voice for your educational vision.
Leadership has taken on new meaning in 2021. School Board Members Day is a time to reflect on the board’s role in creating lasting educational opportunities that meet local desires and offer a pathway to a successful future for each and every child. It’s an opportunity to honor school board members who serve as unpaid volunteers for the benefit of the students and community residents, while also acting as front-line education advocates providing a local voice and vision for the district.
All of these responsibilities still hold true, but they take on a much larger meaning in 2021. For board members, the tough choices this year go beyond traditional educational outcomes. While continuing to champion academic success, school board members must also weigh their decisions in terms of the health and safety of students, teachers, and members of the community.
School board members continue to work to ensure that the decisions of the district are equitable for all and that everybody is given the resources and opportunities to achieve their dreams. For school boards this year, it is about making the most out of a difficult circumstances and perseverance during times of challenge, while still being able to achieve the goals necessary for our students to become outstanding citizens. School board members will continue to fight for their local districts, the students, the staff, and all residents that benefit from having thoughtful and dedicated public servants making public education decisions at the local level.
A great school system is a source of local pride among residents. That didn’t change in 2021 and it will continue to be the case going forward. Support the leadership that is provided by your local boards of education during this time. Support the perseverance of our local school districts as we confront these challenges together. 
Oak Lawn Community High School District 229 sincerely thanks each of our seven Board of Education Members for their service and support of our school.  They are:  President Robert Loehr, Vice President Matthew Egan, Secretary Judy Ott, Member Timothy Burke, Member Robert Cruz, Member Mark Stanislawek, and Member Edward Wolf.
Back to news