OLCHS Celebrates School Board Members Day


November 15 will mark the official statewide observance of School Board Members Day in Illinois. This is an opportunity for the community to show support for the board of education members and their commitment to providing a local voice for educational vision.

Board members craft a vision and mission that reflects the desires expressed by community,  parents, and residents. Their role is a way to create lasting educational opportunities that reflect local desires and put in place a pathway to success for each and every student.

School board members serve the public as unpaid volunteers for the benefit of the students and community residents. They are the front-line advocates that provide a local voice and vision for the district.

Board members dedicate a significant amount of their own personal time to the district. They attend extracurricular events, participate in professional development opportunities, and work long hours to ensure students have access to the educational resources they need to succeed. This dedication often takes them away from time that could be spent with their own family.

Oak Lawn Community High School District 229 sincerely thanks each of our seven Board of Education Members for their service and support of our school.  They are:  President Robert Loehr, Vice President Timothy Burke, Secretary Judy Ott, Member Matthew Egan, Member Margaret Nugent, Member Mark Stanislawek, and Member Safaa Zarzour.

Back to news