OLCHS Announces Winter Sports Awards Winners

An absolutely historic winter sports season at Oak Lawn Community High School saw the boys and girls basketball teams both win conference championships in the same year for the first time in school history, the boys bowling team win the Illinois High School Association Regional Championship and conference championship, and the cheerleaders qualify for Illinois Cheerleading Coaches Association Championships.
Awards and accolades needed to be handed out to recognize the accomplishments. The Spartans recently held their Winter Sports Awards Night, and all winter sports delivered the hardware.
In girls basketball, the Spartans won their second-straight South Suburban Conference Red title with a perfect 13-0 record along the way. Head coach Mark Sevedge earned the honor of SSC Coach of the Year. Individually, senior Mia Kennelly was named as the SSC Red Player of the Year for the second consecutive year and was a Special Mention Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Class 4A All-State selection. Kennelly along with juniors Kate Dillon, Rose Savaglio, and Shatha Abdeljaber were all named as all-conference selections.
Kennelly was also named at the team’s Co-Most Valuable Player with Dillon. Savaglio was selected as the Sportsmanship Award winner, and Abdeljaber was a state qualifier in the IHSA Three-Point Showdown.
In boys basketball, Oak Lawn won its first conference title in 39 years with an outstanding season. Head coach Jason Rhodes was named as the SSC Coach of the Year. Senior Davion Lawrence was selected as the SSC Red Player of the Year. Lawrence along with seniors Johnny McGowan and Nicco Reyes, and junior Ayham Salah were all-conference selections. Junior Jalen Aalders was an IHSA Three-Point Showdown sectional qualifier. The team’s MVP honor went to Lawrence, and Isaiah Thompson got the Sportsmanship Award.
In boys bowling, along with winning the conference and the regional titles, the Spartans were selected as the SSC Red winner of the Sportsmanship Award. Senior Steven Hebel was an IHSA All-Regional bowler, and he also joined Ramiro Garcia and Logan Wendt as all-conference selections. For the team, Hebel and Wendt shared MVP honors, and Brandon Mariano was the Sportsmanship Award winner.              
In girls bowling, Cheyene Strang was an IHSA Sectional qualifier, and she was named as the team’s MVP. Danah Sheikh was the Sportsmanship award winner.
In competitive cheerleading, the team was an Illinois Cheerleading Coaches Association Championship Qualifier. Diana Sowa and Emily Mikos were all-conference selections. Seniors Bianca Bafia and Mia Uriarte shared team MVP honors while Lauren Kamienski was the Sportsmanship Award winner.
In competitive dance, Adriana Hall and Aleksandria Potoczny were all-conference selections. The team MVP was Hall, and Jasmine Hidalgo won the Sportsmanship Award.
In boys swimming, Lucas Fritz was conference champion in the 50-yard freestyle, and Jeremy Gravelle was an IHSA State Qualifier and conference champion in diving. The team’s MVP Award went to Fritz, and the Sportsmanship Award was shared by Dillon Siert and Trevor Hartmann.
In wrestling, the team had a bevy of IHSA Sectional Qualifiers and one Regional Champion. Hani Odeh won the regional title at 170 pounds and was a sectional qualifier. Other sectional qualifiers were Rakan Eid at 165 pounds, Eduardo Nunez Jr. at 120 pounds, Evan Zambrano at 182 pounds, Hunter Gray at 152 pounds, and Ammar Elayyan at 106 pounds. Zambrano was the team’s MVP, and Fabian Melendez
earned the Sportsmanship Award. All-conference wrestlers included Nunez, Eid, Odeh, and Zambrano. 


Back to news