Oak Lawn Community High School Announces 2021-22 Illinois State Scholars

Oak Lawn Community High School Principal Dr. Jeana Lietz is pleased to announce that 35 students from the OLCHS graduating class of 2021 have been recognized as Illinois State Scholars.
The Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), the state’s college access and financial aid agency, presents this important recognition of academic achievement to exceptional Illinois high school students annually. This year, more than 16,640 honorees join the other top students who have been honored since the designation was first introduced in 1958.  
State Scholars are usually announced in early December, however the postponement or cancellation of spring 2020 college entrance exams due to the COVID-19 pandemic delayed this year’s announcements until complete data was available.
This year’s Illinois State Scholars represent approximately the top ten percent of high school seniors from 676 high schools across the state. Illinois State Scholars are chosen based on a combination of exemplary ACT or SAT test scores and sixth semester class rank.   
“We are so proud of our Illinois State Scholars. They have demonstrated Spartan Pride despite the challenges that this past year has presented,” said OLCHS Assistant Principal Dr. Lauren May. “We know they will continue to make us proud as OLCHS alumni.”
The following Oak Lawn Community High School students were named 2021-22 Illinois State Scholars:  Omar Alqazaq, Aminah Arab, Megan Berry, Julian Birdine, Laura Blachowicz, Julia Bryja, Lauren Burke, Lauren Buss, Benjamin Cash, Michael Conroy, Mia Contreras, Aneta Dzielska, Margaret Hennessy, Olha Huska, Jamal Jowdeh, Iman Khater, Marcin Landa, Amelia Lazuk, Jake Majerczyk, Allan McAlpine, Emma McGrath, Michael Mueller, Dominic Niceforo, Emma O’Malley-Galvan, Alan Prymon, David Romero, Corbin Rupsch, Gavin Sheehan, Grace Sievers, Veronika Stelter, Mateusz Szlembarski, Theresa Tenn, Arvin Wallack, James Walsh, and Johnathon Weber.
“In a year when students and families across the state and the nation have faced unprecedented personal and financial challenges as a result of the pandemic, we could not be more proud of the continued focus, dedication and achievements of our State Scholars,” said Eric Zarnikow, executive director of ISAC. “We also want to recognize the invaluable support of families, mentors, teachers, school counselors, and others, who are themselves dealing with the challenges of the pandemic and yet have remained dedicated to assisting students and helping them move forward on a path to meet their educational and career goals.”
While the Illinois State Scholars recognition is a non-monetary award, recipients receive a congratulatory letter from ISAC and a personalized Certificate of Achievement.
Back to news