For the second consecutive year, the Oak Lawn Community High School Journalism team won the Illinois High School Association Sectional Championship. It was a true team effort and the Spartans finished with 85 points to top Joliet West (76 points) and Homewood-Flossmoor (54 points). That victory means Oak Lawn is heading to the IHSA Journalism State Finals at Heartland Community College in Normal, Ill., on April 22.
The Spartans won sectional championships in five of the 18 events. The top three finishers in each event advance to compete in the State Finals.
Junior Tori Prause was champion in Broadcast News. The talented team of juniors including Quinn Haywood, Layla Nemri, and Matthew Perry won in the Video News category. Meanwhile, Sierra Knutsen won in Yearbook Caption Writing, and the dynamic duo of Mia Reyes and JM Claudio won in Yearbook Theme Development. Grace Tynski was the winner in Review Writing and placed second in Feature Writing.
In Photo Story Telling, senior Adrianna Hall claimed second place, and Senior Sarah Lindsay also took second place in Info Graphics. Junior Ash Argueta finished second in Headline Writing, and she took third in Copy Editing as well. Senior Yusra Abdelrahman finished second in Advertising and third in Editorial Writing.
Junior Brendan Gallian was second-place finisher in Sports Writing. Coming in third in Yearbook Copy Writing was junior Paulina Komperda. Freshman Omar Tellez took second in Newspaper Design. Breanna Buttney was third in Editorial Cartooning.
Back to news