IHSA, SSC Honor Academic Achievements By Athletes

Every sports season the Illinois High School Association and the South Suburban Conference highlight and honor student-athletes for their performance in the classroom. The IHSA Scholastic Achievement Award recognizes junior and senior athletes with a cumulative unweighted grade point average of 3.5 or higher. The SSC recognizes seniors with GPA of 3.5 or higher for its All-Academic Team.
Here are the IHSA Scholastic Achievement Award recipients from Oak Lawn Community High School by sport.
In boys basketball it was Ammar Alsalhi and Johnny McGowan. In boys bowling Julian Amador, Steven Hebel, and Brandon Mariano earned the distinction. In boys swimming it was Benjamin Fritz, Lucas Fritz, Trevor Hartmann, and Islam Shehata. In wrestling it was Abdelaziz Hasan, Daniel Lisnic, Hunter Gray, John Parquette, and Evan Zambrano.
In competitive cheerleading the winners were Bianca Bafia, Lily Butler, Paulina Komperda, and Emily Mikos. In competitive dance Maggie Conrad, Adriana Hall, and Aleksandria Potoczny earned the award. In girls basketball it was Shatha Abdeljaber, Deana Green, Elizabeth Hennessy, Mia Kennelly, Mila Revell, and Rose Savaglio. The award winners in girls bowling were Angela Correa, Sarah Lindsay, Danah Sheikh, and Caitlyn Sierzega.
Selections for the SSC All-Academic Team were Alsalhi, McGowan, Hebel, Lucas Fritz, Shehata, Bafia, Hall, Potoczny, Kennelly, Lindsay, Sierzega, and Zambrano.
Back to news