Boys, Girls Track Highlights Spring Sports Success


Spring-Sports-2In a sport like track and field, there is an opportunity for team success and individual success. This spring sports season saw plenty of individual success stories as several boys and girls qualified for the Illinois High School Association State Meet. 

In all, Madeline McGrath (Pole Vault), Kamryn Hendricks (Triple Jump), Chris Caban (Discus), Kory McNicholas (Shot Put), Jason Carr (Long Jump), and Zach Olejniczak (300-meter Low Hurdles) all qualified for state. And on the badminton court, the doubles team of Julie Andrist and Salaam Khater qualified for the state meet as well.

Here is a closer look at the Spring Sports Awards for the Spartans.

In Boys Track, Carr was named the team Most Valuable Player, and Masato Cabalona earned the Sportsmanship Award. Olejniczak won the South Suburban Conference Red Meet in both 300m hurdles and in pole vault. The 4x800m relay team of Zach Zobak, Angel Reyes, David Chavez, and Mike Majcherek also won the conference title.

In Girls Track, Emma McGrath was named the team MVP, and Sadie Hartmann won the Sportsmanship Award. All-Conference selections included the 4x800m relay team of Sydney Rozhon, Elizabeth Featherstone, Lillian Featherstone and Emma McGrath; Madeline McGrath in pole vault; Emma McGrath in the 800; and the 4x400m relay team of Hartmann, Veronika Stelter, Emma McGrath and Rozhon.

In Badminton, Andrist and Khater shared team MVP honors, while Dunia Samra was the Sportsmanship Award winner. All-Conference selections included Andrist, Khater, Samra, Martyna Gugala, and Ciara Avila.

In Baseball, Bryan Green and Joe Barnhouse shared MVP honors, and Jacob Labuda and Joe Virruso shared Sportsmanship honors. All-Conference selections included Green, Luke Hincks and Virruso. Barnhouse was honorable mention. Sebastian Haro was a Clifton Scholarship winner.

In Girls Soccer, Mia Kennelly was named to the All-Sectional team. Jessica Szaflarski was the team MVP, and Jenna Cipriani was the Sportsmanship Award winner. All-Conference selections included Kennelly, Cynthia Nunez, and Szaflarski.

In Softball, the team MVP was Angelica Rafacz, while Alexis Norris was the Sportsmanship winner. All-Conference selections included Rafacz, Monique Villarreal, and Arianna Andersen. Marlene Favila was honorable mention.

In Boys Tennis, the team MVP was Ricardo Cortes. Kryszstof Ptak won the Sportsmanship Award. Ahmed Sharfi was All-Conference.

In Boys Volleyball, the team MVP was Patryk Harkabuzik, and the Sportsmanship Award went to Braulio Medina. Harkabuzik was All-Conference, and Caden Figus was honorable mention.

As for the specialty awards given out that night, Madelyn McGrath won the Geri Vandekreke Most Valuable Female Athlete Award and Nico Uriarte won the Bill Godby Most Valuable Male Athlete Award. Nick Novak (Football) was named the Fred Parks Coach of the Year. Joe Pajac Scholarship winners were Khater, Madeline McGrath, and Samantha Welninski.


Back to news